summer reading

26 Jul

During Summer, I catch up on all the piles of books I have laying around. It’s the only time where hours seem to stretch and lounging on a beach towel under the sun is the highlight of your day. Have you read any good books yet? If so, share them in the comments section. These are the ones I’ve read that were real page-turners.

The Girl She Used To Be

“The Girl She Used To Be” by David Cristofano

About a young woman who has lived her entire life in the Witness Protection Program, this story chronicles her reemergence in to life without her false identity. Instead of finding herself, she runs in to danger and an unlikely ally. It’s well-written and goes at a fast pace, so once you pick it up, you won’t be able to put it down.

The Piano Teacher

“The Piano Teacher” by Janice Y.K. Lee

Set in Hong Kong during World War II, this novel focuses on Claire, an ordinary English woman who falls for a mysterious man whose ties to the past threaten both of their worlds. The scenery is lush and the characters are flawed yet interesting. It doesn’t end how you want it to, but it makes the novel ten times more interesting.

The Forgotten Garden

“The Forgotten Garden” by Kate Morton

Kate Morton writes historical fiction really well and she doesn’t let you down with this novel. A young woman tries to uncover the secrets from her past after her grandmother’s death. The story flips back from the past and present, showing alternate sides to story that appears to be simple. I enjoyed all the twists and turns and couldn’t put it down.

6 Responses to “summer reading”

  1. Pip Lincolne July 26, 2009 at 8:51 pm #

    Thank you! I am going to try ‘The Girl She Used To Be’ first! I wrote it in my diary so I can remember when I’m next in the bookstore! Thanks again for the recs! x

  2. snooky doodle July 26, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

    you made me feel like reading a nice book :)

  3. whitneyinchicago July 27, 2009 at 4:11 am #

    This is perfect timing. I take the Bar tomorrow and wednesday!!! and for the first time in 3 years, really have time to read for pleasure. I just added all 3 to my public library hold list :)

  4. Emily July 27, 2009 at 5:17 am #

    Two really good books I’ve read lately:

    1. All Over Creation (Ruth Ozeki), which tells the story of a screwed up family trying to reconcile as the parents succumb to old age. It’s set, oddly enough, against the backdrop of potato farming and militant protests over genetic engineering. Interesting on both family and food fronts.

    2. Commencement (J. Courtney Sullivan), which is a much more real, rounded, and satisfying narrative about four women’s friendship with each other and how life changes after college. Very nostalgic, but simultaneously forward-looking. Good fun.

  5. Helen July 27, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    I just finished reading Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, it was a bit chick-lit-ish, but I was pretty gripped by the end!

  6. whitneyinchicago August 19, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    I just finished “The Girl She Used to Be” and I loved it. I wish it was longer because the story was fun to read. Thanks for recommending it.

Leave a comment