my oscar dress

23 Feb

Let’s pretend that I was one of the few who was planning on strutting her stuff down the red carpet tomorrow at the long awaited Academy Awards.

Come on, work with me people.

I wanted to indulge myself and see what I’d choose to wear at the superbowl of most fashion events. These are my picks, and maybe some gorgeous actress will pick up on my fashion-vibes and rock one of these dresses.

Versace, Fall 2008. I adore the fabric and the way it moves as she walks. Plus, the neckline and the one shoulder draping make this dress interesting.

Dolce & Gabbana, Fall 2008. Either go big, or go home right? It reminds me of something that Sarah Jessica Parker would wear.
Gucci, Fall 2008. The design on this dress is fabulous. I’d get to channel my inner Indian princess. Did anyone else want to be Jasmine from Aladin?
Bottega Veneta, fall 2008. This dress reminds me of something that Grace Kelly or Audrey Hepburn would wear. With a great red lip and Veronica Lake hair, you’d be the talk of the town.
Marchesa, Fall 2008. Oh Marchesa, my love. I can’t profess my love for this label any louder. Romantic and elegant, the dress is one of my favorites because of the fit and the flower detailed bust.
Oscar de la Renta, fall 2008. How can you not wear an Oscar de la Renta gown to the Oscars? He epitomizes Hollywood glamour and this dress is lovely. A big ball gown with a banded bust, I can only imagine what it would be like to wear this dress.

I can’t wait till I see what the lovely ladies of Tinseltown wear tomorrow. My big favorites are Marion Cotillard, Katie Holmes, Gwyneth Paltrow, Penelope Cruz, Cate Blanchett, Keira Knightley, and Kate Hudson. Anyone you are looking forward to seeing?

2 Responses to “my oscar dress”

  1. a. grace February 24, 2008 at 2:27 am #

    good heavens, that marchesa model looks about 5 years old! i think my mom was still dressing me when i was her age. gorgeous dress though. :)

  2. Kate February 25, 2008 at 6:41 am #

    It looked like Jessica Alba wore the Marchesa! Haha, you have good taste. :)

Leave a comment