Marbled Loaf Cake

18 Oct

marbled loaf cake

I never thought I’d admit this but here goes: I’m an early riser.

My 18 year old self just scoffed.

However, it is true. I like to be up and settling in to my first cup of coffee before 9 am. I prefer to do work and other rain activities before 12 pm. I really enjoy getting in a morning run and possible yoga session before 7 am.

chocolate before its mixed

Call me crazy, but there is something remarkably beautiful about being awake while (most of) the world is still sleeping. Right now, I live with a bunch of kiddies who sleep in till 12 pm and barely see the light of day. Silly kids, don’t they know they are missing out on the most perfect time of day? Granted, they don’t come stumbling home until about 4 am so I guess they earn the right to sleep in tragically late. But my old 24 year old bones can’t take that. I prefer to be cozied up in bed, makeup off, face scrubbed, and lights off by at least 1 am.

One of the reasons why I love my mornings is because you can squeeze in a little baking time before the rest of the house wakes up. Nothing says good morning like a warm marble loaf cake with freshly brewed coffee. Especially when you have a lovely young chap who is smiling back at you over the breakfast table (still auditioning for that part).

recipe

sour cream cake mix

chocolate cake topped

This recipe comes from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking:From My Home to Yours and it is a good recipe to keep in your back pocket. It doesn’t take long to prepare and can be made with the minimum amount of bowls. That’s a winner in my book. It is almost identical to my beloved Marble Bundt Cake (a la Dorie again) however it doesn’t use as much sugar. It has the same base sour cream cake though but uses less butter due to the cake’s size and structure. I think this would be a nice easy loaf to make right around Halloween for your kids and it would definitely prepare them for the impending sugar rush. Or maybe the morning before Thanksgiving, before the madness begins. It may seem small and unassuming but that is its charm. You don’t expect great things of it but it delivers a moist and firm bite without the dryness from other loaf cakes.

This might be one of the last recipes from Dorie Greenspan’s book. Gasp! I know, I know. However I have fully exhausted this book and it is time to reach out and find new books. There are multitude of books on the horizon and I need to mix it up. That doesn’t mean you won’t see Dorie’s book pop up now and then; I stick by my baking staples. I’m looking forward to testing new books out, such as the new book by famed Baked bakers, Alice Medrich’s new book dedicated solely to cookies, the Gourmet Cookie Book, and David Lebovitz’s new book. There are so many options! Are there any new books you have tried that you love? Share your reviews. I’m open to all suggestions.

marbled loaf cake

Marbled Loaf Cake
Origin: “Baking: From My Home To Yours” by Dorie Greenspan
Yield: 8 to 10 servings
Prep Time: 15 min
Cooking Time: 1 hour and 20 to 30 minutes

Ingredients:
2 cups plus 2 Tbsp All-Purpose Flour
1 ¼ tsp Baking Powder
½ tsp Salt
1 ½ sticks (10 ounces) Unsalted Butter, at room temperature
1 cup Sugar
4 large Eggs
½ tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
½ cup Sour Cream
4 ounces Bittersweet Chocolate, melted and cooled

Directions:
Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit. Butter an 9×5 loaf pan, dust the inside with flour, and tap out the excess. Place the pan on an insulated baking sheet.

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

Working with a stand mixer, preferably fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter on medium speed until smooth, about three minutes. Add the sugar and beat for another two to three minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Don’t be concerned if the batter curdles and stays curdled. Beat in the vanilla. Reduce the mixer speed to low and alternately add the flour mixture in three additions and the milk in two (begin and end with dry ingredients), mixing only until each addition is incorporated.

Divide the batter in half and stir four ounces bittersweet chocolate into one half and keep the other half plain. Scrape the batter into the pan.

Bake the cake for one hour and 20 to 30 minutes, or until a thin knife inserted deep into the center comes out clean. If the cake looks as if it’s getting too brown during its bake, cover it loosely with a foil tent. Transfer the cake to a cooling rack and let it rest for about 15 minutes before unmolding, then cool the cake to room temperature right side up on the rack.
Wrapped well, the cake will keep at room temperature for up to four days.

12 Responses to “Marbled Loaf Cake”

  1. Mary October 18, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    This looks amazing!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  2. Maddie October 18, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    I hate to admit this, but I’ve never made a Dorie Greenspan recipe! I’ve seen so many good ones here, though.

    Also, I’d love to see recipes from the new Baked book. Have you been to their place in Brooklyn yet?

  3. Jacqueline October 18, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    My goodness… this looks SO good.

  4. Hope Johnson October 18, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    I’m also an earlier riser! I read some articles about studies that found people who like waking up early are generally more successful in life, so there you go!

  5. theresa October 19, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    I’ve been a closet early riser myself in the last few years! An early morning stroll with strong black coffee can be a magical thing in NYC. That is, until everyone else decides they need to be up and travelling 100 miles an hour to survive.

    The pound cake looks delish…here’s one I’ve been meaning to try, myself. Umm, anything that includes an entire jar of nutella has got to be amazing, in my opinion!

    http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/nutella-swirl-pound-cake

  6. Liz B October 19, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    i’m with you there as an early riser and yogi devotee :) i love working away whilst others are sleeping, makes you feel alittle cheaky and wiser :) Take it you now have an oven then?? x

  7. Emma October 19, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    aaah cake and coffee in the morning – I’m not sure there’s anything better. I too am an early riser (after years of being a nurse). I find it impossible to sleep in much past 7 these days.

  8. foodess October 19, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    Looks like perfect breakfast. Good luck with your auditions ;-)

  9. Jenny October 20, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    These look great! I love your pictures : )

  10. Sabrina October 21, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    Looks delicious! Thanks for the lovely recipe, my hubby would go nuts for this=)

  11. Eva October 21, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I also am all about the early rising! So glad to know other people are on board! This loaf looks sooo good, and I must say who ever gets the starring role from their auditions is pretty lucky especially if they are getting that for breakie! Have you tried Anna Olsons FRESH cookbook? I heart it, she is Canadian like moi and is a mean baker…maybe try her earlier one called “Sugar”
    Take care!

  12. Libby October 22, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    ALL about the early rising–tea, morning paper, yoga… it’s the best. No marble loaf though, darn it.

Leave a comment